Skip to main content

Independent desk-research guide

Free AI presentation makers

Five tools keep a lasting free plan and three offer only a trial. Free AI credits are one-time, monthly or annual, so the practical question is whether you need a permanent deck editor or a single generated draft.

Quick answer

For unlimited decks on a lasting free plan, use Canva or Pitch; Pitch adds 100 one-time AI credits. SlidesAI renews 200 credits a month, while Presentations.ai lists 200 credits a year and decks of up to 20 slides. Gamma generates slides, images and layouts together from one prompt with 400 one-time credits and a 10-slide cap per prompt. Beautiful.ai, Plus AI and Decktopus are trials, not free plans.

Free plans at a glance

Limits below are from official pages checked on 2026-11-02. “Not verified” means the official page did not publish the detail.

Free plan limits: Free AI presentation makers
ToolFree planFree AI allowanceOther free limitsSignupExports and platforms
GammaFree plan400 one-time AI credits on the Free plan; credits do not refresh, and referrals add 200 credits each up to a 2,000-credit balance.Free exports keep the "Made by Gamma" badge on PDF and PPTX; generation is capped at 10 slides per prompt and 50,000 input tokens; Free uses basic image models.RequiredBrowser-based; exports PDF, PNG and PPTX, imports into Google Slides via PPTX, and posts to LinkedIn.
CanvaFree planLimited access to Standard and Premium AI tools; the pricing page publishes no numeric AI credit or generation allowance.One Brand Kit with 3 colors only, 5 GB of storage and no access to Ultra AI tools.RequiredBrowser, iOS, Android and Windows apps; designs export as PDF, JPG and PNG.
SlidesAIFree planThe Basic plan is $0 and includes 200 AI credits per month, with up to 2,500 characters of input per presentation.Only the Lite and Balanced AI models are included, with one brand kit; the pricing page does not state watermark or export limits for the free tier.RequiredGenerates decks for Google Slides and PowerPoint; the pricing page does not list interface languages.
Presentations.aiFree planThe Starter plan is $0 and includes 200 AI credits, listed as annual, the Starter AI model and agent, and decks of up to 20 slides.Starter decks cap at 20 slides and 5 guests; high-quality PowerPoint export is listed only under Pro.RequiredWeb app with PowerPoint and PDF export; the interface is offered in English, Spanish, German, French, Chinese, Japanese and Korean.
DecktopusFree trialNo free plan: new accounts get free credits that cover a 3-slide presentation, and no trial length is published.PDF, PPT and PNG export plus carousels are Pro features; there is no ongoing free tier.RequiredBrowser-based with mobile access; paid plans export PDF, PPT and PNG.
Beautiful.aiFree trialA 14-day trial with unlimited slides and full Pro features, including unlimited AI generation; no free plan is published.The trial requires a credit card and is charged in full when it ends; students with a .edu address can get a year free.RequiredBrowser-based with a desktop player; PowerPoint import and export plus PDF export.
PitchFree planUnlimited presentations on the Free plan plus 100 AI credits that do not renew once used.2 external guests, 10 GB of storage, 5 MB image uploads and branded PDF or embed exports; PowerPoint export is not included.RequiredWeb-based; Free exports branded PDFs and embeds, with PPTX export reserved for paid plans.
Plus AIFree trialNo free plan: all plans start with a 7-day trial that includes 1,000 AI credits.The trial requires a credit card, converts to a paid plan when it ends and is limited to new Plus AI customers.RequiredRuns inside Google Slides and PowerPoint; the trial covers both.

Choose by workflow

Start with the job you need to finish, then check the free limit that would interrupt it.

Lasting free plan with unlimited decks

A permanent $0 editor with a capped or unspecified AI allowance, suited to decks you build by hand.

Builds inside Google Slides or PowerPoint

Adds generation to an editor you already use instead of hosting decks on its own site.

Tool notes

Use these notes to shortlist a tool; confirm the current limit on its official page before relying on it.

Gamma

Free plan

Best for

A polished first draft from a prompt, with slides, images and layouts generated together.

Consider something else when

Ongoing free use: the free credits are a one-time allowance and do not refresh.

Free AI allowance
400 one-time AI credits on the Free plan; credits do not refresh, and referrals add 200 credits each up to a 2,000-credit balance.
Other free limits
Free exports keep the "Made by Gamma" badge on PDF and PPTX; generation is capped at 10 slides per prompt and 50,000 input tokens; Free uses basic image models.
Signup
Required
Exports and platforms
Browser-based; exports PDF, PNG and PPTX, imports into Google Slides via PPTX, and posts to LinkedIn.
Official sourcesGamma free plan creditsGamma pricingChecked

Canva

Free plan

Best for

Decks in a full design editor, with templates for slides, documents and social posts.

Consider something else when

Heavy AI generation: the free plan does not publish a numeric AI allowance and locks Ultra AI.

Free AI allowance
Limited access to Standard and Premium AI tools; the pricing page publishes no numeric AI credit or generation allowance.
Other free limits
One Brand Kit with 3 colors only, 5 GB of storage and no access to Ultra AI tools.
Signup
Required
Exports and platforms
Browser, iOS, Android and Windows apps; designs export as PDF, JPG and PNG.
Official sourcesCanva pricingCanva presentationsChecked

SlidesAI

Free plan

Best for

Turning an outline or pasted text into slides inside Google Slides or PowerPoint.

Consider something else when

Long source documents: the free tier caps input at 2,500 characters per presentation.

Free AI allowance
The Basic plan is $0 and includes 200 AI credits per month, with up to 2,500 characters of input per presentation.
Other free limits
Only the Lite and Balanced AI models are included, with one brand kit; the pricing page does not state watermark or export limits for the free tier.
Signup
Required
Exports and platforms
Generates decks for Google Slides and PowerPoint; the pricing page does not list interface languages.
Official sourcesSlidesAI pricingChecked

Best for

Polished sales or investor decks in several interface languages, with a strict slide cap.

Consider something else when

Decks longer than 20 slides or free high-quality PowerPoint export, which the pricing page lists under Pro.

Free AI allowance
The Starter plan is $0 and includes 200 AI credits, listed as annual, the Starter AI model and agent, and decks of up to 20 slides.
Other free limits
Starter decks cap at 20 slides and 5 guests; high-quality PowerPoint export is listed only under Pro.
Signup
Required
Exports and platforms
Web app with PowerPoint and PDF export; the interface is offered in English, Spanish, German, French, Chinese, Japanese and Korean.
Official sourcesPresentations.ai pricingChecked

Decktopus

Free trial

Best for

Trying the prompt-to-deck flow once before paying for a subscription.

Consider something else when

A lasting free plan: signup credits only cover a 3-slide presentation.

Free AI allowance
No free plan: new accounts get free credits that cover a 3-slide presentation, and no trial length is published.
Other free limits
PDF, PPT and PNG export plus carousels are Pro features; there is no ongoing free tier.
Signup
Required
Exports and platforms
Browser-based with mobile access; paid plans export PDF, PPT and PNG.
Official sourcesDecktopus homeChecked

Beautiful.ai

Free trial

Best for

Testing auto-layout and design rules on a deck you would otherwise build by hand.

Consider something else when

Free use: there is no free plan, only a card-backed 14-day trial.

Free AI allowance
A 14-day trial with unlimited slides and full Pro features, including unlimited AI generation; no free plan is published.
Other free limits
The trial requires a credit card and is charged in full when it ends; students with a .edu address can get a year free.
Signup
Required
Exports and platforms
Browser-based with a desktop player; PowerPoint import and export plus PDF export.
Official sourcesBeautiful.ai pricingChecked

Pitch

Free plan

Best for

Unlimited decks on a lasting free plan with light AI help and 2 external guests.

Consider something else when

PowerPoint handoff: the free plan does not include PPTX export.

Free AI allowance
Unlimited presentations on the Free plan plus 100 AI credits that do not renew once used.
Other free limits
2 external guests, 10 GB of storage, 5 MB image uploads and branded PDF or embed exports; PowerPoint export is not included.
Signup
Required
Exports and platforms
Web-based; Free exports branded PDFs and embeds, with PPTX export reserved for paid plans.
Official sourcesPitch pricingChecked

Plus AI

Free trial

Best for

Adding AI generation inside Google Slides or PowerPoint without leaving the editor.

Consider something else when

Free use: Plus AI sells a 7-day card-backed trial, not a free plan.

Free AI allowance
No free plan: all plans start with a 7-day trial that includes 1,000 AI credits.
Other free limits
The trial requires a credit card, converts to a paid plan when it ends and is limited to new Plus AI customers.
Signup
Required
Exports and platforms
Runs inside Google Slides and PowerPoint; the trial covers both.
Official sourcesPlus AI pricingChecked

Common questions

Are any of these presentation makers permanently free?

Canva, Pitch, SlidesAI, Presentations.ai and Gamma keep a $0 plan, but each caps the AI allowance or the export. Beautiful.ai and Plus AI offer card-backed trials that convert to paid plans; Decktopus gives signup credits for a 3-slide deck and publishes no trial length.

Which free plan exports PowerPoint?

Gamma exports PPTX with a badge on the free plan. SlidesAI builds decks inside Google Slides or PowerPoint, and Plus AI generates inside them during its trial. Pitch reserves PPTX export for paid plans. Presentations.ai lists PowerPoint export but puts high-quality export under Pro, so the free output is unverified.

What happens when the free AI credits run out?

Canva publishes no numeric allowance. Gamma gives 400 credits that do not refresh and Pitch gives 100 one-time credits; SlidesAI renews 200 credits each month, while Presentations.ai lists its 200 credits as annual. After that you either keep editing by hand or upgrade.

Do the free plans require a credit card?

Beautiful.ai and Plus AI state that a card is required for their trials. Decktopus does not state a card requirement on the page checked. Canva, Pitch, SlidesAI, Presentations.ai and Gamma do not state a card requirement for their $0 plans, so confirm at signup rather than assuming.